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The State of Louisiana, Office of State Police (the Division), filed this appeal in the matter of Bayou
Beer Garden, LLC d/b/a Bayou Beer Garden (the Licensee). The Division is appealing the Hearing
Officer’s decision rendered on August 25, 2022, wherein a penalty of $1750.00 was assessed for failure to
notify of two management changes and failure to timely notify the Division of a marriage. On September
6, 2022, the Division filed a Motion for Reconsideration of Decision. That motion was Denied on
September 14, 2022.

On June 30, 2021 Louisiana Office of State Police received a Video Draw Poker Renewal
Application and Record Update Form from Bayou Beer Garden for its Type 1 video draw poker gaming
license. The renewal application disclosed that Fiona D. Shore holds 51%. Dean J. DiSalvo holds 39%,
and John David Demarest holds 10% of the membership interest in the Licensee. This information differed
from the records of the Division.

Investigation by the Division revealed that the Licensee failed to notify the Division of two separate
transfers of membership interest. On January 1, 2021, Dean DiSalvo transferred 1% of his membership
interest to Fiona D. Shore and on April 21, 2021, he transferred 10% of his membership interest to John
David Demarest, JR. It was also discovered that Dean DiSalvo married Jennifer DiSalvo on October 9,
2010.

The Hearing Officer determined that a penalty of $500.00 for the first management change would
be assessed and $1000.00 for the second. The failure to timely notify of the marriage was assessed
according to the penalty schedule, which is $250.00. Fines were assessed at a total of $1750.00.

LAC 42:X1.2417(B)(4) provides that all licensees and permitees shall have a continuing duty to
notify the division of his/her/its arrest, summons, citation or charge for any criminal offense or violation
including DWI; however, minor traffic violations need not be included. All licensees and permittees shall
have a continuing duty to notify the division of any fact, event, occurrence, matter or action that may affect
the conduct of gaming or the business and financial arrangements incidental thereto or the ability to conduct
the activities for which the licensee or permittee is licensed or permitted. Such notification shall be made
within ten calendar days of the arrest, summons, citation, charge, fact, event, occurrence, matter or action

LAC 42:X1.2424 (A) states that pursuant to La. R.S. 27:432, in lieu of other administrative action,
the Division may impose a civil penalty as provided for in the penalty schedule contained in LAC
42:X1.2424 (B). The Hearing Officer incorrectly classified the transfer of membership interests as
management changes. A transfer of membership change is not a management change, it is a change in the
ownership of the licensee. Transfers of membership interests are not on the penalty schedule.
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Factors that should be considered are length of time between transfer and notification, whether the
transferee had previously met suitability, whether the transferee was required to meet suitability, past
violations, whether the transferee was determined unsuitable, and whether the licensee notified or it was
discovered by the Division.

LAC 42:X1.2424 (B) provides that failure to notify the Division of a marriage should be assessed
at $250.

In the present case, there were two transfers of membership interest that were not timely disclosed.
There was also one marriage that was not timely disclosed. One of the transfers was made to an individual
who had already met suitability, but the licensee failed to notify for four months. The other transfer was to
an individual that had not met suitability. They received gaming revenue for a period of two months while
not having been through a suitability investigation. The last, was a marriage that occurred in 2010 and it
was not discovered by the Division until August 2021. The Licensee did disclose this information in their
renewal application, just not within the 10 days as required by law. These are the first violations for the
Licensee.

ORDER

This matter having been considered by the Louisiana Gaming Control Board on appeal by the
Division, from the Hearing Officer’s decision dated August 25, 2022, in an open meeting of November 17,
2022:

IT IS ORDERED that the Hearing Officer’s Decision as to the fine of $250.00 for failure
to timely disclose a marriage be increased to $500.00. The Board does note that the penalty was increased
because the Licensee failed to notify the Division of the marriage for eleven (11) years. This amount of
time is unacceptable and why the Board did not follow the penalty schedule.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the fine of $1500.00 is affirmed. However, for the purpose
and reasons set forth in this decision, we clarify that these fines are assessed for transfers of ownership
interest, not management changes.

THUS DONE AND SIGNED on this the 18" day of November, 2022.

LOUISIANA GAM N L BOARD

BY:

RONNIE S. JOHNS/CHAIRMAN

LOUISIANA GAMING CONTROL BOARD
IHEREBY CERTIFY THAT ACERTIFIED
COPY HAS BEEN MAILED OR SERVED ON

ALL PARTIES THIS

[
O nper .22?_2

APPEAL DOCKET CLERK

LGCB-6667-22-D




